TEXAS HB300: SIFTING FACT FROM FICTION

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
JA
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Eras Medium ITC”,”sans-serif”;}

Is there an official HIPAA certification? What about the “required” test our staff has to take? These are the two questions flooding our office this week. Fact or Fiction?

While the new, more stringent regulations loom – bringing the expected degree of panic from dental professionals statewide – we’re here to tell you that with all the other things you SHOULD be worrying about, HB 300 does NOT need to be one of them!

We have received many calls and e-mails inquiring about “required” online tests and “HIPAA Certification.” We wanted to set the record straight. There is no official “HIPAA Certification” or HB300 Certification” or any certification.

According to the law (referenced below), there are a few simple steps that you and your office staff can take that will ensure that you are completely compliant with the new Texas HIPAA parameters:

 

Conduct an office training session, covering all the legal requirements AS THEY APPLY TO YOUR TEAM

Install HIPAA policies (you can order them from us or many other vendors)

Be sure that EVERYONE in your office receives this training

DOCUMENT their attendance with a sign-in sheet, which you will keep with all your other HIPAA records

COMPLETE this staff training PRIOR to Oct. 30, 2012

Ensure that EVERY new hire receives this training before beginning work in the office

Update your policies and acknowledgment forms

Yep, folks, THAT’S IT! This completely qualifies as making sure that your staff is “HIPAA Certified.” We encourage you to do an informal quiz at the conclusion of your training – just asking questions is fine; no formal “written” exam is required for this official “HIPAA Certified” designation – but even this “quizzing” is NOT REQUIRED.

If you would like to receive the full scoop on Texas HIPAA HB300, and the new more stringent patient privacy policies, the team at Dental Compliance Specialists will be offering several opportunities for you receive the information that needs to be covered. Once you have this in hand, you can then take it back to your respective offices and conduct the above-outlined training for your entire team. For those interested in participating in one of our trainings, we will be offering classes:

 

Friday, Oct. 12            Live training                Irving, Texas                1:00 – 2:30 PM          $65/$47 Early Bird

OR…Your entire office can log-in to one of the following webinars to receive their training and

earn individual certificates:

Tuesday, Oct. 23,        Webinar                                                          7:00 – 8:00 AM          $20/Person

Tuesday, Oct. 23,        Webinar                                                          Noon – 1:00 PM         $20/Person

Tuesday, Oct. 23,        Webinar                                                          7:00 – 8:00 PM          $20/Person

 

For more information, please give one of our Specialists a call at 817-755-0035 and we will be glad to answer your questions, enroll you in one of these scheduled trainings or schedule a personal, in-office class for your staff.

 

HB300:          http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.181.htm

Sec. 181.101.  TRAINING REQUIRED.  (a)  Each covered entity shall provide a training program to employees of the covered entity regarding the state and federal law concerning protected health information as it relates to:

 (1)  the covered entity's particular course of business; and

(2)  each employee's scope of employment.

(b)  An employee of a covered entity must complete training described by Subsection (a) not later than the 60th day after the date the employee is hired by the covered entity.

(c)  An employee of a covered entity shall receive training described by Subsection (a) at least once every two years.

(d)  A covered entity shall require an employee of the entity who attends a training program described by Subsection (a) to sign, electronically or in writing, a statement verifying the employee's attendance at the training program.  The covered entity shall maintain the signed statement.